Home > Articles > On The Film Army Front: June ’13 Edition

On The Film Army Front: June ’13 Edition

FilmArmyWatermark

For those who may be unaware, I also write on a more Canadian-savvy site called Film Army. At Film Army, contributors wish to bring filmmakers – ranging from students to up-and-comers to tenured artists – together and provide resources, news, and other relevant information in order to keep these dedicated readers in the loop regarding the film and television industry.

Contributors have some sort of tv/film experience under our belts. Some have been working behind-the-scenes on a number of sets while others are currently in school for their specified craft or choosing if film school would be the best bet for their budding careers.

As for myself, I have an education in television and video production, but found I had a lot more fun and more of a fuelled passion to write about what I love about movies and what I think other movie goers would appreciate about modern movies. Which is why I’m Film Army’s resident film critic.

I’ve been writing for Film Army for three years. I’ve reviewed feature-length movies and short films, interviewed filmmakers, provided event coverage, been a guest on Base Camp (Film Army’s exclusive podcast), and have had a ball gaining experience and watching a collection of different works.

At the beginning of every month (excluding this late entry), I’m going to provide Film Army links to my Wylie Writes readers. Just like Film Army keeps industry folk involved with television and film, I want to keep you guys in the loop with my other work.

FILM ARMY GOES CUCKOO FOR 360 SCREENINGS’ FIFTH EVENT

JOHNNY LAROCQUE’S FILM FESTIVAL HAS LEFT A MOVIEGOING IMPRINT

PLACEBO WEAVES THROUGH MOVIEGOERS

SCI-FI SIMU: ONE-ON-ONE WITH OMEGA’S SIMU LIU

MOVIEGOING HALFTIME: THE BEST AND WORST OF 2013… SO FAR

SHIPSHAPE SHORTS AT TORONTO YOUTH SHORTS FILM FESTIVAL

PELLETIER’S PRESENT FUTURE: ONE-ON-ONE WITH OMEGA’S JARED PELLETIER

CANADIAN COHEN: ONE-ON-ONE WITH BEING CANADIAN’S ROBERT COHEN

Let’s close out this first ‘On The Film Army Front’ with a pretty cool milestone. Earlier this year, I reviewed an inspiring documentary called Fame High, directed by Academy Award nominee Scott Hamilton Kennedy. It played at this year’s TIFF Kids as well as TIFF Next Wave Film Festival.

The film ended up using one of my quotes for their web poster. I’m the third quote – just above the title. Check it out! And, read my review here!

FameHighQuote

**********

Visit FilmArmy.ca!

Do You Tweet? Follow Us:

Film Army: @FilmArmy
Addison Wylie: @AddisonWylie

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment